HostPapa Review

Reviewed by: Jerry Low . .
  • Review Updated: Jan 21, 2020
HostPapa
Plan in review: Business
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Updated: January 21, 2020
Summary
HostPapa started business in 2005/06 and is one of the earliest that goes green in its hosting operations. At time of writing, Hostpapa operates business from both Niagara Falls, United States and Oakville, Canada. Should you host your site at HostPapa? Check it out in this review.

Founded in 2006 by Jamie Opalchuk, HostPapa, an Ontario-based web hosting company, provides small businesses, web designers, and resellers with a number of web solutions.

Those solutions include shared web hosting,  virtual private server (VPS) hosting plans for small businesses, a drag-and-drop website builder, and a powerful multi-site reseller option for designers and IT firms.

The company states that the goal is to give every customer the full-featured hosting packages they are looking for, backed by excellent customer service. HostPapa was named 27th Annual PROFIT 500 Ranking of Canada’s Fastest Growing Companies in 2015.

My story with HostPapa

I had some good experience with HostPapa in 2010 – the server was always up and running; and the cost was ultra cheap. Nevertheless, I left HostPapa after my charity project ended and never look back. Until recently.

In December 2016, I did an interview with the company founder, Jamie Opalchuk. It was an interesting session. Mr. Jamie was very helpful, very knowledgeable, and transparent with his company operations. I decided that I wanted to learn more about HostPapa and promote their service if things are right.

Hence, a new test site was setup on HostPapa Business Pro (shared hosting plan). I am going to share with you my experience with HostPapa the pros and cons about the company in this review.

Introducing HostPapa

  • Headquarter: Ontario, Canada, U.S.
  • Established: 2006, by Jamie Opalchuk
  • Services: Shared, VPS, WordPress, and reseller hosting
Bird eye view of HostPapa building at Ontario, Canada.
According to Jamie – the company HostPapa hires ~120 people and currently hosting ~500,000 websites.

 


 

In a Glance: What's in this HostPapa review?

 


 

Exclusive Discount: HostPapa at $3.36/mo

To get this offer, use coupon code “WHSR”; or simply click on this promo link.

Exclusive discount on HostPapa shared hosting.

Not all HostPapa deals are the same. As HostPapa's exclusive partner, WHSR is able to give you the best-discounted rate (58% off Starter plan).

* Click to enlarge image.

Get further discounts when you order HostPapa with our promo link. The price you pay = ($142.20 – $21.33) / 36 = $3.36/mo.

HostPapa Exclusive Discounted Price vs Normal Price

This special discount is applicable to all shared hosting plans – Starter, Business, and Business Pro. The table below shows the prices before and after discount for 3 years subscription.

HostPapaNormal PriceWith WHSR DiscountSavings (3 Years)
Starter$7.99/mo$3.36/mo$166.68
Business$12.99/mo$3.36/mo$346.68
Business Pro$19.99/mo$11.01/mo$323.28

 

Up to 74% off HostPapa shared hosting plan, click here

 

 


 

The Pros of HostPapa Hosting

1- Great value for money

There are many things that I like about HostPapa’s shared hosting plans. I find that they offer a strong value proposition, actually giving you your money’s worth. For example, The Starter plan kicks in at just $3.95 a month and allows you to host two websites. That’s less than what a cuppa at Starbucks would set you back.

Resources allocated are decent as well. You get 100GB of disk space, unlimited bandwidth, and a free domain name. You also get 100 email accounts, access to over 200 free apps, and the use of the starter version of an excellent drag-and-drop website builder – all with the excellent speed and security of a good host.

HostPapa price vs others

HostFull Refund TrialSignup PriceNumber of SitesLearn More
HostPapa30 days$3.36/mo2
A2 HostingAnytime$3.92/mo1Read Review
BlueHost30 days$2.95/mo1Read Review
Hostgator45 days$2.75/mo1Read Review
Hostinger30 days$0.80/mo1Read Review
InMotion Hosting90 days$3.99/mo2Read Review
Interserver30 days$5.00/moUnlimitedRead Review
iPage30 days$1.99/moUnlimitedRead Review
TMD Hosting60 days$2.95/mo1Read Review

 

2- Excellent server performance: Average server uptime > 99.93%

With average server uptime in excess of 99.9%, HostPapa can be considered as being in the upper range of stable hosts.

Despite experienced frequent short outages back in 2017, HostPapa is still excellent considering that you’re looking at shared hosting uptime. HostPapa server uptime history is published as below:

HostPapa uptime record

October / November 2018: 100%

HostPapa 30 days average uptime October / November 2018: 100%.

June / July 2018: 100%

HostPapa uptime June / July 2018: 100%. Test site has not gone down for the last 30 days.

May 2018: 100%

HostPapa uptime May 2018: 100%. Test site has not gone down for the last 30 days.

June 2017: 99.75%

It seems that my new test site is not hosted on a stable server. The test site is experienced frequent short outages (3 – 5 minutes) through out the month (June 2017), scoring 99.75% for the past 30 days. Hopefully this will improve in future.

Do take note that HostPapa does have a solid service level agreement (SLA) in place and guarantees 99.9% uptime to all of their shared hosting users.

 

3- Green hosting service that does not break your wallet

The fact that environmental sustainability and service affordability goes hand in hand with HostPapa is something remarkable. Hostpapa is one of the cheapest green hosting services available in the market. HostPapa's Business plan costs $3.95/mo which is pretty good compared to similar hosting plans from GreenGeeks and HostGator at $5.95/mo.

How does HostPapa “green” hosting work?

In case you’re wondering – HostPapa has taken the initiative of going green since 2006 by buying renewable energy to power its servers and offices.

After an energy audit by a third-party provider (Green-e.org, for example) to calculate HostPapa’s electrical energy consumption from traditional sources, they purchased “green energy tags” from a certified clean energy supplier.

That supplier calculates the total energy consumption of HostPapa operations – from servers to office equipment – then uses their suppliers of green energy to pump in 100% in equivalent energy back into the power grid.

This effectively cuts down on the carbon dioxide-producing (CO2) energy that we normally would consume from non-green energy sources.

Learn more about how green hosting works in Timothy's article.

 

4- Responsive Live Chat Support

I spoke a few times with HostPapa live chat support staff in the past and was very happy with their performance. My inquiries were responded to very quickly and the support staff was all very helpful. Refer to the image below for my recent chat transcript where I named myself “J”.

Also worth mentioning – HostPapa is Better Business Bureau accredited since 13/8/2010 and A+ rated (at the time of writing).

HostPapa Chat Records (May 30th, 2017)

I was helping one WHSR reader to pick a host and contacted HostPapa to confirm their site migration process.

HostPapa Chat Records (June 4th, 2018)

I did another chat with HostPapa support recently – my live chat request was answered instantly and my issue was solved on the spot. My support agent, Kristel T, stayed on the line and made sure that my problem was 100% solved before leaving the chat (I am guessing that the photo and name are fake though).

 

5- Huge room for expansion and upgrades

I like the fact that there are five VPS and reseller hosting plans to choose from. Having this breadth of options to upgrade and expand your hosting server is important.

You can always upgrade to one of the five HostPapa's VPS plans for more server resources.

 


 

The Cons of HostPapa Hosting

1- Expensive renewal fees

Budget hosting companies often pull down their signup price to attract new customers. The same goes with HostPapa – you will have to pay a much higher rate – $7.99/$12.99/$19.99/mo for Starter, Business, and Business Pro upon renewal of your service contract.

2- Limited server locations

The customers are given only 2 choices of server locations to choose from during checkout.

Unlike many major hosting companies which give their customers a strategic choice of data center locations, HostPapa has clustered theirs within North America and Canada. Although this does give them good control over the quality of data centers they work with, it doesn’t help their customers who want to target web traffic from other regions.

The result is a higher latency for visitors of those websites since they have to be routed over to North America.

 


 

HostPapa Hosting Plans & Pricing

For only $3.95/mo, HostPapa users get 100GB disk storage space, unlimited bandwidth, 25 databases,and 100 email accounts as well as one-click application installation support, the latest PHP and MySQL versions, basic SSL support, and more.

That’s pretty much at the top end of the line of what other shared hosting providers are offering at this price range of plans.

Message from Dave Price, HostPapa Marketing Director

We are not the same company we were a couple years ago. The infrastructure is upgraded/enhanced for better performance, the support channels are even stronger, we offer 30 minute free private sessions to help customers on a topic they want help with in addition to the 24/7 support in 4 languages via chat, ticket, and phone, plus we now have incredible VPS offerings, etc.

You can find out more about Hostpapa hosting plans in tables below, or simply visit HostPapa online at https://www.hostpapa.com/ for official information.

HostPapa Shared Hosting Plans

FeaturesStarterBusinessBusiness Pro
Website Hosted2UnlimitedUnlimited
Disk Storage100 GBUnlimitedUnlimited
Data TransferUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
HostPapa Website BuilderStarter EditionStarter EditionUnlimited Edition
CDN
Premium Servers
Wildcard SSL+ $69.99/year+ $69.99/yearFree
Signup Price$3.36/mo$3.36/mo$11.01/mo
Renewal Price$7.99/mo$12.99/mo$19.99/mo

 

HostPapa VPS Hosting* Plans

FeaturesMercuryVenusEarthMaarsJupiter
Core CPU448812
RAM2 GB4 GB8 GB16 GB32 GB
SSD Storage60 GB125 GB250 GB500 GB1 TB
Data Transfer1 TB2 TB2 TB4 TB8 TB
IP Address22222
Softaculous Support
Signup Price **$19.99/mo$59.99/mo$109.99/mo$149.99/mo$249.99/mo
Renewal Price$19.99/mo$59.99/mo$109.99/mo$149.99/mo$249.99/mo

 

* Note: It's important to note that HostPapa is offering managed VPS hosting at an additional cost of $19/mo. The cost is optional. Meaning that if you want HostPapa to take care of your server issues such as security audit, network issues, software upgrades, migration, and firewall setup, you need to pay extra. Otherwise, you have to choose the self-managed option. 

**VPS signup price is based on 36-month term and renew at the same price.

 

 


 

Verdict: Should You Go with HostPapa Hosting?

Quick recap:

 

Do I recommend HostPapa? Yes. I especially like their feature-rich plans and low signup prices.

But is HostPapa the best web host in market? I would probably say no. The expensive renewal prices push them out of budget shared hosting and will likely be a strain on the bottom line of many smaller websites..

If for some reason you want your website to be hosted in the U.S. or Canada, then HostPapa is definitely one of the best choices.

HostPapa Alternatives & Comparisons

HostPapa is usually compared with the following hosting providers.

  • HostPapa vs GoDaddy – GoDaddy is one of the oldest names in domain business. Their similar shared hosting plan (Deluxe) starts at $7.99/mo.
  • HostPapa vs GreenGeeks – GreenGeeks is well known for its environmental-friendly hosting practices. Their shared hosting plan starts at $2.95/mo.
  • HostPapa vs Hostgator – The brand (and company) Hostgator has been around for almost two decades. Hatchling plan (similar shared plan) costs $2.75/mo.
  • HostPapa vs SiteGround – SiteGround offers wide choices in server locations and innovative server features. Their shared hosting plans start at the price of $3.95/mo.

 

For more details or to order HostPapa, visit (link opens in new window): https://www.hostpapa.com/

 

(P/S: Links in this page above are affiliate links – if you purchase via this link, it will credit WHSR as your referrer. This is how our team keep this site alive for 8 years and add more free hosting reviews based on real test account – your support is highly appreciated. Buying via my link doesn’t cost you more. )

About Jerry Low

Founder of WebHostingSecretRevealed.net (WHSR) - a hosting review trusted and used by 100,000's users. More than 15 years experience in web hosting, affiliate marketing, and SEO. Contributor to ProBlogger.net, Business.com, SocialMediaToday.com, and more.